Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Balsamic-Sage Brown Butter

IMG_0033

I did something awesome.

I, like, actually made the best thing I’ve ever eaten this weekend.

And as a bonus?  I had other people eat it who agreed.  WITNESSES.

So, this is a recipe I came across ages ago and knew I had to try.  #1. Gnocchi is my favorite. #2. Sweet potatoes are my life. #3. Brown butter.  #4. I ADDED PANCETTA.

Yes, you read that correctly.  As if this dish wasn’t already divine, I decided to add some bacon.  Everyone’s lives just got a lot better.  I have a few justifications for this.  One of them is:  Just because.  The other one is real and is: The salty, fatty pancetta contrasted the sweetness of the sweet potato and balsamic in an insane way.  By insane I mean undoubtedly good.

I’m going to keep this brief because I feel like my words are only preventing you from making this and also eating this, so just leave right now and make this OK??

Here’s the recipe you need: http://www.aidamollenkamp.com/2012/11/sweet-potato-gnocchi-with-balsamic-sage-brown-butter/

*I bought a 1/4 lb of pancetta and browned it in a pan until it was crispy.  I then added it to the dish when I tossed the gnocchi with the sauce.  DO NOT FORGET ABOUT THE PANCETTA.

Best of luck.  Now off you go…

IMG_0032

Leave a Reply

