Brown Butter Oatmeal Chunk Cookies

IMG_0030

It snowed this week.  I mean, it’s the second weekend of November and all of Chicagoland has already had a light blanket of the fluffy, white stuff.  It’s like the universe knew I needed an extra little push to turn up the Christmas tunes.  Judge me, I’m perfectly fine with it.

In addition to the inappropriately early Christmas celebrating, make some cookies.  It only makes sense.  No wonder this time of year does nothing for my waistline.  All I want to do is bake things and eat them while cuddling under a cozy blanket.  That’s the very opposite of exercising, in case you were wondering.

IMG_0028

These cookies are amazeballs mostly because of the addition of brown butter.  Basically you melt a stick of butter until little brown bits form at the bottom and caramelize.  It’s good, folks.  Real good.

Mine turned into little nugget cookies I believe because I put the dough in the freezer to chill.  Ugh, I was running short on time.  They turned out just slightly denser than I would’ve liked, but the flavor was still on POINT.

IMG_0029

I found the recipe on one of my favorite food blogs How Sweet It Is.

You can find it here:  http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/03/brown-butter-oatmeal-chunk-cookies/

I did alter the recipe slightly by adding butterscotch chunks in addition to the chocolate chips.  I just halved the amount of chocolate chips and added a 1/2 cup of butterscotch morsels.  Yum.

Even if you didn’t get any snow this week, you should still make these.  And if your Harry Connick Jr. Christmas album magically starts to play, I won’t tell anyone.  I promise.

IMG_0031

Leave a Reply

