Spaghetti with Roasted Cauliflower, Smoked Sea Salt, and Breadcrumbs

IMG_0015 IMG_0016IMG_0017

During the week, I regularly feel like a crazy person.  I run from job to job and eat more meals than I care to admit in the car.  This is not ideal for a number of reasons.  One: crumbs. Two: it’s incredibly unhealthy to eat on-the-go.

On certain weeknights, I have enough time to prepare dinner.  Even on nights when I have the time, though, I typically gravitate towards recipes I either know very well, or ones that will take me a short amount of time.  You know, something in between opening a can of Spaghettio’s and roasting a turkey.

IMG_0018

This past week I created an easy pasta dish with minimal, yet special ingredients that my family really enjoyed.  It is a wonderful reminder that good, fresh ingredients trump complicated recipes almost every time.  I was also happy to experiment with the smoked sea salt that I purchased a few weeks ago.  I enjoy the smoky flavor, but find that it works best when it is in the background.  Something that makes your guests say, “What is that?”

IMG_0019

Spaghetti with Roasted Cauliflower, Smoked Sea Salt, and Breadcrumbs

4 cloves of garlic, unpeeled
1 head cauliflower, cut into bite-sized florets
1/2 tsp smoked sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
3 tbsp olive oil
1 lb spaghetti
1 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs

Heat oven to 450 degrees.  Place cauliflower on a baking sheet and toss with smoked sea salt, pepper, and olive oil.  Spread out cauliflower so that it is in a single layer.  Roast for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown and tender.

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil.  Cook spaghetti according to package directions.  Drain pasta, and toss with roasted cauliflower, breadcrumbs, and crushed red pepper (may use more if you like it spicy!).  Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and sprinkling of parmesan.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

