Homemade Take-Out

IMG_1132

One of my favorite things to do is to not do anything.

I’m sure you understand.  And I’m sure I sound like a really fun person.  I promise I am.

Let me explain…

When given the choice between getting dressed up on a Friday night and staying in my yoga pants with a good flick and great food, I’m going to choose the latter.  For me, it makes the fancy nights that much more special.  They almost always end up being fun and I think it’s because they are the exception to the norm.  Which is yoga pants.  And food.  God, I need to get back to the gym.

Anyways, another great benefit to staying in is that you can make your own homemade take-out.  It almost always guarantees that you save some bucks AND you can control the ingredients making it a healthy alternative to your usual greasy pizza place from down the street.

My main squeeze and I have been experimenting with gluten-free recipes lately.  When I’m not baking pies, that is.  A few weekends ago, we made our first gluten free pizza and buffalo wings with blue cheese dip.  It was delightful.  And yes, I wore yoga pants.

IMG_1134

I think the buffalo wings were the highlight of the night.  I love a good spicy chicken wing and what’s better than blue cheese dip? Oh that’s right… literally nothing.  We baked the wings and tossed them in our favorite buffalo sauce.  So easy.  Here’s a link to the blue cheese dip provided by the incomparable Ina Garten.  I die for her.  She’s everything.

Chunky Blue Cheese and Yogurt Dip: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/chunky-blue-cheese-and-yogurt-dip-recipe/index.html

Our attempt at making gluten free pizza crust was a success in the sense that we did it.  I don’t know if there will be a day when we will crave gluten free crust over regular pizza, but maybe the universe will surprise us.  I used this recipe from the Minimalist Baker.

Gluten free Pizza: http://minimalistbaker.com/the-best-gluten-free-pizza-crust-sauce/

Xanthan gum was perhaps the most challenging ingredient to locate.  Ever.  Of all the ingredients of everything I’ve ever made.  I finally found it at a natural foods store.  I should add that I didn’t bother to ask anyone who worked at any of the establishments that I searched.  For some reason, I challenged myself to finding a needle in a haystack all by myself.  ‘Twas cute.  The bottom line?  Make your own take out sometime.  A portion of the excitement from the night was due to the fact that we spent time together in the kitchen.  You know, romantic stuff.  Enjoy dudes!

IMG_1136

Leave a Reply

