Chicken Fricassee

or Fricassee de Poulet a L’Ancienne.

Um, excuse me…what!?

French.  I know.  Even by just looking at the name, I feel fancier and more sophisticated.  The French know what’s up.  I will be traveling to Paris for the first time next summer and I can hardly contain my excitement. I am hoping that they will present us with Chanel bags as we exit the aircraft.  I don’t think that’s an unrealistic expectation.

IMG_0004

Since I have many months before I actually get to experience France in all it’s romantic glory, I have to settle for delicious French meals at home.  Woe is me.  Not really though, because the French seem to do everything right when it comes to delicious, rich, and special meals.  This dish is in between a saute and a stew, and is perfect for a Sunday dinner as the weather gets crisp and cool.  Chicken fricassee is totally comforting and delicious.  I served mine with a slice of crusty sourdough bread to dip in the rich and velvety sauce.  Heaven.

IMG_0003

If you can’t eat this at a small cafe on the streets of Paris, then why not make it at home?  It amps up any regular evening and immediately makes dinner a special event.  Plus, it’s always nice to have an extra one pot meal in ones repertoire.  Less to clean up, amiright?  Below is the link to the recipe that I used off of Martha Stewart Living.  That Wisconsin girl can cook.

IMG_0002

Chicken Fricassee:  http://www.marthastewart.com/925889/chicken-fricassee

Enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Fricassee

Leave a Reply

