Tomato and Mozzarella Salad

photo

Tomatoes. Ya know what I mean?  I still consider them a vegetable even though I’ve been taught otherwise.  I think it’s because I always pair them with savory flavors.  It doesn’t matter though, because I will take them any way I can get them.  My dad has an awesome garden that he tends to each summer which usually (depending on the year) produces an excellent crop of tomatoes for us to use in different ways.  My favorite way to eat tomatoes is in a tomato and fresh mozzarella salad.  Is this revolutionary?  Did your head just explode?  Probably not.  I still stand by this recipe because it is one of the most satisfying summer meals and so gosh darn EASY.

photo-3

Tomato and Fresh Mozzarella Salad

Serves 2-3

3 Heirloom tomatoes
Fresh mozzarella
1/2 cup basil
Olive oil
Salt & Pepper to taste

Slice tomatoes and arrange on a plate.  Tear mozzarella into bite sized pieces and put desired amount on each plate (try not to eat all of the mozzarella before it reaches the plate).  Gently tear basil into bite sized pieces and sprinkle over tomatoes and mozzarella. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil.

Leave a Reply

