Spicy Fried Cauliflower

Once in awhile, I have a night that is so special, that it reminds me of all the reasons I have to be happy.  Last night’s enjoyment was exclusively because of my best friends from high school.  It was a nice reminder of the fact that people and relationships are the most important thing to hold dear.  Everything else is just nonsense.

photo-11

Alright, enough mush.  On with the food, yes?

I was never one of those kids who made a fuss over eating vegetables.  If I’m being honest, I never really fussed over eating anything (Except mushrooms. I have a thing about mushrooms).  I like food, guys.  It’s fine.  That being said, I think any kid would get over himself if presented with a plate of hot, salty, FRIED veggies.  I mean c’mon, that’s just delicious.

This recipe for fried cauliflower is super easy.  It is the perfect side dish or appetizer to serve alongside your favorite Indian dishes.

photo-10

Spicy Fried Cauliflower

adapted from Veg Bowl blog

1 medium sized cauliflower
1 cup thick yogurt
3 tsp  red chili powder
3 cloves garlic
1 inch piece ginger
Salt, to taste
All purpose flour, about 3 tbsp for each batch of florets
Chaat masala, optional
Oil for deep frying

Grate garlic and ginger finely so that they turn into almost a paste.  Cut and clean the cauliflower and be sure to drain out all of the water.  In a separate bowl, add the yogurt, chili powder, garlic, and ginger and 1 tsp salt and stir to combine.  Add the florets of cauliflower and stir to coat evenly.

Meanwhile, heat oil in the pan (I used about a 1/2 inch of oil covering the bottom of the pan.  This allowed me to pan fry, rather than deep fry the cauliflower).  Take a handful or two of the florets and toss with 3 tbsp of flour and coat evenly.  Drop each floret carefully into the hot oil and fry until golden brown on all sides.  Continue coating the remaining cauliflower in the flour and allow each batch to complete frying before adding more.  Sprinkle with salt and serve!

photo-9

One thought on “Spicy Fried Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

