Homemade Naan

Monday.  Ugh.

Every week, ya know what I mean?  Nothing terrible has even happened today, but it just feels right to whine a little bit.  Poor Mondays, they are definitely the red headed step child of the work week.

This weekend was filled with some yummy food and family time.  Also, I got sunburnt and spent a lot of the the weekend on my stomach since it was too painful to put pressure on my back.  Yes, I only burnt the back side of my body.  Yes, I was too lazy to flip over while tanning because I was heavily involved with my InStyle magazine.  Yes, my priorities are out of whack.

When I wasn’t whining about my sunburnt (Note to self: stop whining so much), I was cooking up a storm.  This weekend I experimented with some Indian recipes:  Naan, Chicken Tikka Masala, and Spicy Fried Cauliflower.  I will post the recipes for the chicken and cauliflower later in the week.  Let it be known that my experience with Indian food is limited, but I have really enjoyed all of the dishes that I have tried.  I think these recipes are a wonderful way to dip your toe into the amazing flavors of Indian cuisine.  This recipe for homemade Naan (Indian flatbread) is very easy and results in the most delicious, chewy, soft bread that is perfect for dipping in the Chicken Tikka Masala sauce or on its own (Carbs! Amiright?)

photo-7

Naan

recipe adapted from foodnetwork.com by Aarti Sequeira

Yield: 6 loaves  Prep time: 15 min  Inactive: 3 hrs  Cook time: 15 min

1 teaspoon active dry yeast
2 teaspoons sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
3 tablespoons plain yogurt
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Melted butter for slathering on the finished naans
Coarse sea salt for sprinkling

Dissolve yeast and 1 tsp sugar in 3/4 cup warm water.  Allow it to sit on the counter until frothy, about 10 minutes.

While it dissolves, sift flour, salt, remaining tsp of sugar, and baking powder into a large bowl.  Once the yeast is frothy, add yogurt and olive oil into the glass and stir to combine. Pour the yogurt/yeast mixture into the dry ingredients and gently mix together.  When the dough begins to come together you may start mixing with your hands.  Keep mixing until it turns into a light, slightly sticky dough.  Be careful not to over-knead.  Cover the dough with a damp towel and leave in a warm, draft-free area for 2-4 hours.

When it’s time to roll, prepare a small bowl with flour and another small bowl with water.  Divide the dough into 6 portions and roll each portion in the flour to prevent sticking (the dough will feel very sticky at first, but that is normal!).  Roll each piece of dough into a teardrop shape about 8-9 inches long.  Warm a large skillet over high heat until it is almost smoking.  Gently lay one piece of dough in the skillet and allow it to cook for 1 minute or until it is bubbly and brown on the bottom.  After one minute, flip the naan and do the same on the other side.  Remove the naan from the skillet and brush with butter and sprinkle with sea salt.  Repeat with the rest of the naans and serve.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Naan

Leave a Reply

