Asian Baked Salmon with Spring Vegetable Risotto

photo-6

This always happens.  I vow to workout later in the day by going for a long walk outdoors and then the heavens part and the rains fall and wash away my good intentions.  Yes, I could workout indoors, but that seems terrible.  Also, I am the best at making up excuses not to workout.  And at whining about it.  WAHH.

Anyways, I am seriously and deeply in love with risotto.  That is the opposite of exercise, I am aware.  But the amount of stirring one must do to make a successful risotto MUST count for something.  Full disclosure: I sweat a lot while cooking over a hot stove.  That water loss is weight loss in my mind.  Right?

I loved that this meal was satisfying in a “this is extremely delicious and yet I don’t feel uncomfortably full, so where is my dessert” kind of way.  Of course, if you are tempted to eat the entire batch of risotto, you might disagree on the “uncomfortably full” part.  The marinade for the salmon is stupid easy and is my favorite flavor combination for salmon and maybe ever.  Actually, just anything with garlic is my favorite.  Sorry, boyfriend. Speaking of, the BF ate this dinner and enjoyed it as much as I did.  Salmon for the win!  I recommend making this for a special occasion or on a day when you have a little extra prep time.  Sunday dinner perhaps?

The rain has stopped…I’ve done enough whining.  Off I go!

Asian Grilled Salmon with Spring Vegetable Risotto

adapted from The Barefoot Contessa

Makes 4 servings

For the salmon:

4, 4 0z salmon filets (boned, but skin on)
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp minced, fresh ginger

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Combine soy sauce, olive oil, garlic, and ginger in a small bowl.  Place salmon, skin side up, in a baking dish.  Pour marinade over to coat salmon and place in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes.  Place salmon, skin side down, in oven and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until cooked through.  Serve atop risotto and enjoy!

For the risotto:

1 1/2 tsp olive oil
1 1/2 tsp unsalted butter
1 medium white onion, chopped
1 cup Arborio rice
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 lb thin asparagus
1 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving
Salt and Pepper

Heat olive oil and butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Add onion and saute until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add rice and stir to coat with oil and butter.  Add the white wine and simmer over low heat, being sure to stir constantly until most of the wine is absorbed.  Add the chicken stock, 2 ladles at a time, and stir while waiting for the stock to be absorbed by the rice before adding more.  This will take around 25-30 minutes.

Cut asparagus into 1 inch pieces (make sure to get rid of the tough ends).  Blanch in boiling salt water for 5 minutes.  Drain and cool in ice water.  Add the asparagus, peas, 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp pepper to the risotto after it has been cooking for 15 minutes.  Continue to add the stock until the rice is al dente.  When it is done, remove from the heat and stir in Parmesan.   Serve with more Parmesan if you are a cheesy freak like me 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

