Herbed Goat Cheese & Ricotta Crostini

On days when I am a nanny, my meals are essentially a hodgepodge of edible things.

If I remember to eat breakfast (I’m the worst at the most important meal of the day thing), it most likely consists of a granola bar in the car, or if I’m really crazy, a hurried bowl of cereal.  I don’t do the cereal in the car, in case you were wondering (but there’s a first time for everything).

Lunch is the real kicker.  I usually will finish the singular leftover chicken nugget that my own little nuggets don’t eat.  I also munch on berries or whatever fruit/veggies I have served the kiddos.  It’s enough to hold me over in that moment, but I am always ravenous when I arrive home in the mid-afternoon.

This Herbed Goat Cheese & Ricotta Crostini is an easy, delicious snack just perfect for mid-afternoon cravings.  I’m obsessed with the versatility of crostini.  Let me keep it real with you: I don’t always have ricotta and goat cheese on hand.  Do you find yourself without these ingredients right now?  Let’s talk about a few other killer options to play with on some  crostini/toast/fancy crispy bread thing.

Here’s what Joy the Baker has to say on the topic:

http://joythebaker.com/2013/03/on-toast-baguette/

A Cozy Kitchen also weighed in:

http://acozykitchen.com/stuff-on-toast-2/

Cupcakes and Cashmere featured a delicious crostini as well:

http://cupcakesandcashmere.com/pea-pesto-crostini/

Bottom line?  You could put an old smelly shoe on top of some crusty, buttered bread and it would taste good.  **Please do not put an old smelly shoe on your crusty, buttered bread.

I used these ingredients because I happened to have them on hand and it was a divine combo.  The recipe can be adjusted to make more, but I thought I’d include the ingredients for what I served as a snack for my sister and I.  These would be great as mini crostini to serve at a party!

photo

Herbed Goat Cheese & Ricotta Crostini

Serves: 2 hungry snackers

2 slices of a French baguette
olive oil
1 clove garlic
1/3 cup ricotta cheese
1 tbsp goat cheese
1 tsp fresh basil, julienned
1 tsp chives, chopped finely
1 tsp parsley, chopped finely
pinch of red pepper flakes
salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place slices of bread on small baking sheet.  Drizzle each slice with olive oil.  Place baking sheet in the oven for 5-7 minutes, or until lightly browned and crisp.  Mix ricotta and goat cheese in a small mixing bowl until combined.  Add basil, chives, parsley, and red pepper flakes (you can use more depending on your heat preference).  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Remove baguette from oven and wait until it is cool enough to handle.  Rub each slice of bread with garlic clove until fragrant.  Spoon ricotta mixture on each slice of bread and drizzle with olive oil to serve. Enjoy!

One thought on “Herbed Goat Cheese & Ricotta Crostini

Leave a Reply

